Middle School Assessments

District Assessments

NWEA Measures of Academic Progress (MAP) [Grades 6-8]

  • The Measures of Academic Progress (MAP) assessments are adaptive tests that estimate a student’s current instructional level and measure academic growth throughout the school year, and from year to year. D428 students in grades 6-8 take the reading and math MAP Growth assessments three times each year (fall, winter, and spring). Information from these tests helps teachers determine what students already know and what they are ready to learn next so that classroom instruction can be targeted to students’ needs.

  • For more information on MAP, see the NWEA MAP website.

State Assessments

Illinois Assessment of Readiness (IAR) [Grades 6-8]

  • The Illinois Assessment of Readiness (IAR) is a state-mandated assessment that measures the progress of students in grades 6-8 in meeting the Illinois Learning Standards in English language arts and mathematics. 6th-8th grade students take the IAR in the spring.

  • For more information on IAR, see the Pearson IAR website or the ISBE IAR website.

Illinois Science Assessment (ISA) [Grade 8]

  • The Illinois Science Assessment (ISA) is a state mandated science assessment aligned to the Illinois Learning Standards for Science incorporating the Next Generation Science Standards (NGSS). 8th grade students take the ISA in the spring.

  • For more information on ISA, see the ISBE ISA website.